Hidden Heart

Post your art and WIPs for critique. Start a discussion or ask questions about all forms of drawing. Mixed media permitted.
Forum rules
You are allowed to post tasteful nudity. To avoid surprise or unwelcome comments, please indicate that it's a nude in the thread title. Also include a warning in the title if there's a possibility of the subject matter causing offence.
kwheller

Hidden Heart

Post by kwheller »

This barn owl was drawn using Staedtler pencils (6B to 4H) on Bristol paper. It is my first time attempting to do a night scene with a moon with clouds (which I found challenging) and I did use graphite powder for part of the sky. I'm using the possible name of "Hidden Heart" for this piece. Do you see the heart? Any comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Laurene

Re: Hidden Heart

Post by Laurene »

I love the eerie atmosphere you’ve achieved here and I like the tension created by the bold composition choice of having the branch split the drawing this way! That heart-shaped face is unmistakable!!