The Eyes have it

Post your art and WIPs for critique. Start a discussion or ask questions about all forms of drawing. Mixed media permitted.
Forum rules
You are allowed to post tasteful nudity. To avoid surprise or unwelcome comments, please indicate that it's a nude in the thread title. Also include a warning in the title if there's a possibility of the subject matter causing offence.
DanielG

The Eyes have it

Post by DanielG »

This is my first attempt at drawing a human eye. I had to try something new to draw. cylinders and wood planks were getting old. Let me know what you think.

Reference image included; however, I only used it as a rough reference.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dan Garwood

A Plane that comes down faster then it goes up has absolutely no resale value! - Zig Zigler

PogArtTi

Re: The Eyes have it

Post by PogArtTi »

Another great study Dan.
You need to change subject sometimes, just simply to relax your mind.
It will help if you try loose blending of nothing on the paper...
Take your pencil, start making shadows, patches of random shapes..., darker & lighter spots... follow that game, and see what it may make?
I mean - when you observing the clouds above your head, their unique shapes making some illusion of being a horse head, or an air plane, or bearded face...
Try to relax on the paper this way?

The eye it's very complicated object to draw to me.
It has its definition, shapes, and design not so easy to copy...
I bet instead of giving you relax, it could give you a sweaty moments too ;)

If you like my few words, try to shade/blend the eye with side(edge) of the pencil lead rather, then use eraser to pop up highlights within, than using its point, it may help you discover relevant techniques?
These arrows around, single lines, and sharp edge of the entire of the eye doesn't look too natural, but as an abstract rather.
And I bet you are aiming for natural look of your drawing?