Magpie

Post your art and WIPs for critique. Start a discussion or ask questions about all forms of drawing. Mixed media permitted.
Forum rules
You are allowed to post tasteful nudity. To avoid surprise or unwelcome comments, please indicate that it's a nude in the thread title. Also include a warning in the title if there's a possibility of the subject matter causing offence.
Gimpy72

Magpie

Post by Gimpy72 »

I'm posting a picture here for the first time and I'm happy about any critique :idea: . I'm a beginner without a drawing course, just Youtube videos and recently Mike's book :D .

Materials used: wood-cased pencils (Faber Castell 2H, HB, 2B), Polychronos black (for the darks on the bird), kneaded eraser, graphite powder with colour-shaper (blurry background). Paper: Derwent Watercolor 300 g/m2 white.

The challenge with this photo was to put the bird in the center so that the blurry background doesn't compete with the magpie. I don't think I've succeeded. On the bird, the feathers presented a challenge, as did the white part of the body.
I didn't do badly with the head with the beak and the eyes. In any case, I myself have the feeling that the eye has life.
:?: But there is something that irritates me about this drawing and I don't know exactly what it is. Is it the lack of range of values? Are the shadows cast partially wrong?

Help will be very appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Laurene

Re: Magpie

Post by Laurene »

I think you did beautifully with the magpie, especially the head. Very well done!!

On the head your strokes follow the direction the feathers lay. That gives it a sense of realism. On the breast however your pencil strokes cross each other quite a bit. This gives the appearance of a rougher texture. I think you’ll find that if you give this area the same attention as you did to the head, it will appear softer and more rounded.