Martie

Post your art and WIPs for critique. Start a discussion or ask questions about all forms of drawing. Mixed media permitted.
Forum rules
You are allowed to post tasteful nudity. To avoid surprise or unwelcome comments, please indicate that it's a nude in the thread title. Also include a warning in the title if there's a possibility of the subject matter causing offence.
DavidBunyan

Martie

Post by DavidBunyan »

Hello everyone, I've been following along with you exceptionally talented people for a while now, fully intending to introduce myself at some point, although didn't want to do so without first sharing some of my artwork. Unfortunately, speed is not one of my strong points, so has taken much longer to post than I would have liked.

I've been drawing for a few years now and have been lucky enough to attend a couple of Mike's workshops.

I'd really appreciate any comments that could help me improve, so any critiques would be welcome.

This is Martie, my daughters loan horse that sadly died last year :cry:

Drawn using Mars Carbon 2b,hb,2h on Conqueror Diamond White. The photo is a tiny bit darker than the drawing although I'm yet to fix it.

Many thanks Dave
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

LindasPencils

Re: Martie

Post by LindasPencils »

Marty is lovely.
My only critique is that I feel the dark of the mouth/lip area could be improved as currently it seems to lack form and is just a dark slash of tone. Perhaps a lighter highlight brought out on the edge of the lip with bluetack to create lip shine?
But it is a very, very good drawing and you should be proud of this work. I hope your daughter approves!

kwheller

Post by kwheller »