Kimberly

Post your art and WIPs for critique. Start a discussion or ask questions about all forms of drawing. Mixed media permitted.
Forum rules
You are allowed to post tasteful nudity. To avoid surprise or unwelcome comments, please indicate that it's a nude in the thread title. Also include a warning in the title if there's a possibility of the subject matter causing offence.
rideum51

Kimberly

Post by rideum51 »

rideum-daughter.jpg
This is my first attempt at a soft portrait of my daughter of 51 years ago. It has always been my favorite photo of her. Comments appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

LindasPencils

Re: Kimberly

Post by LindasPencils »

What a beautiful child, bet she grew into a beautiful woman. Love the soft effect you have achieved, down to the whispy hair. Is this graphite or charcoal? with blending techniques?

The only critique that I would make is that the ear is not well thought out, it lacks 'ear' structure and form and has the appearance of being stuck on. But hey, this was 51 years ago and I am sure you know how to draw an ear these days!

lovely

Laurene

Post by Laurene »

I do agree with Linda that the ear might need some attention, but in every other respect this is wonderful! The eyes are alive and pull me right in. The lips, skin, hair and hand are all beautifully rendered. When an artist connects with a subject like this, it always comes through in the final piece. This has a classical painterly feel.

Mike Sibley
Site Admin

Post by Mike Sibley »

A beautiful child and beautiful drawing. I have to agree about the ear - simply because it's a distraction - but the wonderfully expressive eyes, and the full lips quickly pull my eye back again :)

Lovely, and very believable, wispy hair too. Your deep connection with the subject is so apparent throughout.