Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Receive critiques and comments on your Coloured Pencil or Pastel drawings.
Cazza59

Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Post by Cazza59 »

I was asked to draw this dog for my client's brother in law. His wife has recently passed away and she got the dog before that happened. Molly now keeps him company.

I drew this on pastelmat usng Polychromos pencils. It was bigger than I normally draw, at A3 size. The client is super happy, but I would be interested to learn of any areas that I could improve on in my next drawing.

Now I will try to add the image, LOL.
molly stitched together.jpg
I hope I did this right as its my first attempt to post here.

Carol
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tim8031

Re: Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Post by Tim8031 »

Terrific job.

Cazza59

Post by Cazza59 »

Thank you very much, Tim.

Mike Sibley
Site Admin

Post by Mike Sibley »

I think our Linda (LindasPencils) is the person to listen to for advice with pastels - assuming advice is needed, of course :)

From a purely drawing point of view I think it's spectacular. And one thing that really struck me was... that the nose cuts across the left-hand eye but it's instantly understandable. I think that was something I might have tried to avoid. Not because it's "not right" but because it's so easy to get it wrong... which you most certainly have not. That little bead of water in the bottom really does its job admirably too.

I do find the colouring of the ears a little over-bright and distracting, but the colouring is quite possibly correct, or it's just that my monitor has a love of orange and pink :roll:

My first reaction when I saw this - and I pay a lot of attention to the first reaction - was.... OH, YES! You nailed it ;)
Mike Sibley
BOOKS : Drawing From Line to Life
VIDEOS : DrawWithMike.net

LindasPencils

Post by LindasPencils »

assuming advice is needed, of course